I WAS THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

Men don’t marry who they love, they marry who is in front of them when they are ready.
Iran into my ex a few weeks ago.

I had not seen him in three years. He got married and had two kids. He didn’t change much, he just grew a beard and had patches of white hair on it.

We shared a hug.

He seemed happy to see me and we chatted for a bit. He had moved out of state and was visiting with his family for the holidays.

At the time, we had dated for a year plus and we broke up. Two years later, he got married. I was devastated. I kept wondering where I went wrong and what I did wrong.

It took a while to get over things by burying myself into work and hanging out with people who love me.

“So did you get married or are you seeing someone?” He asked looking at my hands. He was probably checking for a ring.

“Well currently happy and single, there are too many fish out there, gotta catch the best one,” I replied with a smile.

“Nice,’” he replied nodding slowly.

“So how is wifey and the kids?” I asked.

“Family is good, it could have been different,” he replied.

“How do you mean?” I asked wondering what could have been different.

He hesitated and looked at me.

“You were the one that got away,” he replied.

I almost chuckled.

“Really?” I asked with a smirk.

“Yeah, and I regret it.” he replied.

I didn’t know what to say, a part of me wanted to stick my tongue out at him, but I didn’t.

‘Why do you regret it? You married her, I thought you love your wife, she gave you a beautiful family.” I responded.

He nodded thoughtfully.

“You are right, she gave me a beautiful family, but you were the one I loved. When you were with me, I wasn’t ready, when I met her I was ready and that’s why I married her.” he replied.

“Well at least the point was to marry her when you were ready,” I told him.

“Yes, but you were the woman I wanted to marry, you were my soul mate, you made me happy and I don’t know why I messed it up, why i didn’t see that .” He responded.

It was not so news to me. Back then we operated like an old couple, we finished each other’s sentences , laughed at each other’s jokes. We had a routine. It was fun. It was great then. But not anymore.

I didn’t say anything.

“The man who gets to marry you will be the luckiest man alive, I hope he knows that.” he told me.

I smiled.

“He will know that, he will marry me and I will treat him like a king, because only a king recognizes a queen,” I replied.

He flinched.

I didn’t care. The truth had to be told.

“I agree, wifey is not in any way like you, I regret it, if I was single, I ..” he began.

I pretended like my phone was ringing and put it to my ear and I held up one hand for him to excuse me.

I briskly walked out of the door and went towards my car. I had to get away this time. I didn’t want to hear his regret about his wife. He married he and had two kids.

I had to get away, once again.

Sometimes we are never ready for the best things that are sent our way. We regret it once we lose it.

One thought on “I WAS THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY”

  1. Tis not lways about making the best decision, but, being intentional about every decision we make and understanding that we live by decisions we make.

    Like

Leave a comment